close-up of a tree frog, Hyla cinera, photo by JD Willson

Professional Awards

Fitch Award

The Henry S. Fitch Award for Excellence in Herpetology is awarded to an individual for long-term excellence in the study of amphibian and/or reptile biology, based principally on the quality of the awardee's research; consideration is also given to educational and service impacts of the individual's career.

Gibbs Award

The Robert H. Gibbs Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence in Systematic Ichthyology is awarded for "an outstanding body of published work in systematic ichthyology" to a citizen of a Western Hemisphere nation who has not been a recipient of the award.

Johnson Award

The Robert K. Johnson Award for Excellence in Service recognizes members who perform exceptional service to the society.

Herpetology Teaching Award

The Joint Meritorious Teaching Award in Herpetology recognizes superior teaching effectiveness and mentoring of students in the area of herpetology.

Honorary Foreign Members

The Honorary Foreign Members is a recognition of eminent distinction in research bestowed upon ichthyologists and herpetologists who are located outside Canada, Mexico, and the United States.

Ichthyology Teaching Award

The Meritorious Teaching Award in Ichthyology recognizes superior teaching effectiveness and mentoring of students in the area of ichthyology.

Nelson Award

The Joseph S. Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award in Ichthyology recognizes members for an outstanding body of work in any area of ichthyology, including, but not limited to: ecology, behavior, life history, genetics, conservation, and systematics.

Spiritus Award

The Spiritus Award recognizes members for excellence and dedication in support of ichthyology and herpetology collections.