close-up of a tree frog, Hyla cinera, photo by JD Willson

Stewart Award

Margaret M. Stewart Achievement Award for Excellence in Ichthyology or Herpetology

The American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (ASIH) solicits nominations for the mid-career award named in honor of the late Dr. Margaret M. Stewart (State University of New York at Albany) for her award-winning publication record, field program, and service to ASIH as well as her unparalleled contributions as a mentor and role model to ASIH members for decades.

The Margaret M. Stewart Achievement Award for Excellence in Ichthyology and Herpetology is awarded to an ASIH member at the rank of Associate Professor or equivalent (post-tenure or having been in the position for over five years but for no more than 15 years) in good standing who has not won the award previously. In odd years, the award will be given to an ichthyologist, and in even years it will be given to a herpetologist. The award is offered annually and consists of a plaque and a cash award (approximately $500).

In 2021, nominations, including self-nominations, may be made for an ichthyologist, and should include the nominee's curriculum vitae as well as a cover letter from the nominator detailing the nominee's specific contributions to and scholarly impacts in ichthyology as well as their contributions to the ASIH. Nominations can be made by any member of ASIH and will be judged by a committee appointed by the President. In even years, starting in 2020, two members of the committee will be herpetologists, and in odd years, starting in 2021, two members of the committee will be ichthyologists.

Nominations, including self-nominations, should be submitted by 1 March 2021 for the nominee to be eligible for consideration for the 2021 award. Nominations will be effective for three award cycles over a five-year period (because of alternation between disciplines). The nomination should be submitted by email (PDF, DOC, or DOCX format) to Dr. Christopher Martinez (cmimartinez [at]

Past Winners

  • 2020:¬†Emily Taylor
  • 2019: Luiz Rocha