close-up of a tree frog, Hyla cinera, photo by JD Willson

Nelson Award

Joseph S. Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award in Ichthyology

The American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (ASIH) solicits nominations for the Joseph S. Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award in Ichthyology. The award recognizes a member of ASIH for an outstanding body of work in any area of ichthyology, including, but not limited to: ecology, behavior, life history, genetics, conservation, and systematics. The award is granted principally on the basis of the quality of the awardee's research; consideration is also given to the educational impact and service record of the nominee.

The recipient, selected by the Nelson Award Selection Committee, is announced during the plenary session of the ASIH annual meeting and is presented with an engraved crystal award commemorating a prestigious career devoted to the study of fishes.

Any ASIH member may nominate a potential recipient of the Nelson Award, and self-nominations are permitted. Nomination packets must include the nominee's curriculum vitae and at least one letter (on letterhead) detailing their qualifications for the award as described above. Supporting letters are encouraged. Nominations are valid for three years.

Submit nominations for the 2021 Nelson Award via email to the Chair of the Nelson Award Selection Committee, Dr. John G. Lundberg (jgl43 [at] by the deadline of 1 March 2021.

Past Winners

  • 2020: Paula Mabee
  • 2019: William N. Eschmeyer
  • 2018: George Lauder
  • 2017: John Lundberg
  • 2016: Gerald Allen
  • 2015: William J. Matthews
  • 2014: Bruce B. Collette
  • 2013: Gerald R. Smith