close-up of a tree frog, Hyla cinera, photo by JD Willson

Johnson Award

Robert K. Johnson Award

Nominations are solicited for the Robert K. Johnson Award. The ASIH created the award to recognize members that perform exceptional service for the ASIH in memory of Bob Johnson whose service was exemplary. He served four terms as a member of the Board of Governors, as managing editor of Copeia, Secretary, and Chair of the Long Range Planning and Policy Committee. As chair of the Long Range Planning and Policy Committee, he developed a policy and procedures manual for the ASIH that has proved to be exceptionally useful. Bob’s committee was inspired by his commitment to this task, which codified the activities of ASIH.

The award is presented at the Plenary Session of the Annual Meeting of the ASIH.

Nominations may be made by any ichthyologist or herpetologist and should include the nominee’s curriculum vitae and details of the nominee’s specific service contributions to the ASIH. Nominations, including self-nominations, should be submitted by 1 March for the nominee to be eligible for that year’s award. Nominations will be effective for three years.

E-mail nominations to Eric Hilton (ehilton [at] 

Past Winners

  • 2018: Ted Pietsch
  • 2017: Maureen Donnelly
  • 2016: Margaret Neighbors
  • 2015: Michael E. Douglas
  • 2014: Lawrence M. Page
  • 2013: Patrick T. Gregory
  • 2012: Brooks M. Burr
  • 2011: Henry R. Mushinsky
  • 2010: Joseph S. Nelson
  • 2009: Jay M. Savage
  • 2008: Robert C. Cashner
  • 2007: Alan H. Savitzky
  • 2006: Carter R. Gilbert
  • 2005: Margret M. Stewart
  • 2004: Clark Hubbs