close-up of a tree frog, Hyla cinera, photo by JD Willson

Ichthyology Teaching Award

Meritorious Teaching Award in Ichthyology

The American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists and the American Elasmobranch Society announce their co-sponsored Meritorious Teaching Award in Ichthyology, which will be awarded at each year's Joint Meeting of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (JMIH). This award recognizes superior teaching effectiveness and mentoring of students in the area of ichthyology and provides members of ASIH and AES with the opportunity to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to ichthyological education, in either the classroom or mentoring student research endeavors. Winners of the award will be encouraged to become active members of the ASIH, which will facilitate the continuity and longevity of the ASIH and AES, not to mention the maintenance of the standards by which future awards are bestowed.

The award recipient will receive 1) a cash prize of US $500, 2) recognition in the form of an official letter from ASIH and AES (a copy of the letter will also be forwarded to the chief academic administrator at the recipient's host institution), and 3) a plaque identifying the award, year, and recipient's name.

Nominations will be solicited in January of each award year through email, announced in societies' publications, and posted on the societies' websites and Facebook pages. The deadline for submission of nominations will be 15 April of the same year.

Nominations should be sent to Dr. Michael J. Pauers (mjpauers [at], Chair of the Ichthyology Education Committee, by 15 April 2021.

Past Winners

  • 2020: Brian Sidlauskas
  • 2019: Tom Turner
  • 2018: Larry Allen
  • 2017: Ted Pietsch
  • 2016: Don Buth
  • 2015: Gregor Cailliet
  • 2014: Gene Helfman