close-up of a tree frog, Hyla cinera, photo by JD Willson

Fitch Award

Henry S. Fitch Award for Excellence in Herpetology

Nominations are solicited for the Henry S. Fitch Award for Excellence in Herpetology from the American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (ASIH). The prize is awarded to an individual for long-term excellence in the study of amphibian and/or reptile biology, based principally on the quality of the awardee's research; consideration is also given to educational and service impacts of the individual's career. The award is presented at the plenary session held in conjunction with the annual meeting of ASIH and includes a cash prize and certificate. Nominations are encouraged for any herpetologist and should include the nominee's curriculum vitae and details of the nominee's specific contributions and impacts on herpetology.

Nominations, including self-nominations, should be submitted by 1 March 2021 for the nominee to be eligible for that year's award. Nominations will be effective for three years. The nomination should be emailed to the Chair of the 2021 Fitch Award Committee, Dr. Emily Taylor (etaylor [at] with “Fitch Award Nomination” in the subject field.

The winner of the 2021 Fitch award will be announced during the plenary session in Phoenix, Arizona at the 100th Annual Meeting of the ASIH.

Past Winners

  • 2020: Martha L. Crump
  • 2019: Victor H. Hutchison
  • 2018: James P. Collins
  • 2017: Henry Mushinsky
  • 2016: George Zug
  • 2015: Patrick T. Gregory
  • 2014: Marvalee H. Wake
  • 2013: Roy W. McDiarmid
  • 2012: Jonathan A. Campbell
  • 2011: Raymond D. Semlitsch
  • 2010: Thomas W. Schoener
  • 2009: R. Bruce Bury
  • 2008: Stevan Arnold
  • 2007: Edmund D. Brodie, Jr.
  • 2006: J. Whitfield Gibbons
  • 2005: Margaret M. Stewart
  • 2004: Harry W. Greene
  • 2003: Richard Shine
  • 2002: Robert F. Inger
  • 2000: Jay M. Savage
  • 1999: David B. Wake
  • 1998: A. Stanley Rand