Giant Sea Bass, Stereolepis gigas, by David Wang

Bleeker Awards for Distinguished Contributions to Indo-Pacific Ichthyology

Posted on Mar 3, 2020

The Indo-Pacific Fish Conference (IPFC) is accepting nominations for the Bleeker Awards for 2021. The prize is awarded to a living ichthyologist for “an outstanding body of published work in Indo-Pacific ichthyology, mainly in systematics OR ecology”. The award for Systematics includes, but is not limited to, contributions to taxonomy, phylogenetics, phylogeography, speciation and evolutionary processes The award for Ecology includes, but is not limited to, contributions to population, community, functional, behavioral and evolutionary ecology. The awards will be presented at the 11th IPFC, to be held from 5-9th July 2021 in Auckland, New Zealand.

Nominations may be made by any ichthyologist, including self-nominations, and should include the nominee’s curriculum vitae, and up to a maximum of four pages detailing the nominee’s specific contributions and their impacts on Indo-Pacific ichthyology. A maximum of four nominators are permissible per nomination. No further or additional endorsements from individuals are permissible. Members of the IPFC Bleeker Awards committee cannot make nominations. Nominations are for individuals only and cannot be joint nominations or made for organisations or institutions.    

Nominations should be submitted as an e-mail attachment by 30 October 2020 to the Chair of the Bleeker Awards Committee, Professor Philip Munday, James Cook University, Australia (email: philip.munday [at]

The award, named after Pieter Bleeker, honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of ichthyology in the Indo-Pacific. Two awards in ichthyology will be conferred; one for distinguished contributions to Systematics and one for distinguished contributions to Ecology. The first Bleeker awards were presented in 2005 at the 7th IPFC to John Randall (systematics) and Howard Choat (ecology). The recipients in 2009, 2013 and 2017 were William Eschmeyer (systematics), Peter Sale (ecology), Gerald Allen (systematics), Jeffrey Leis (ecology), Keiichi Matsuura (systematics) and David Bellwood (ecology), respectively.

← Return to News