News: ASIH

To post a new item, send a request and the text item and any text file for downloading to asih-org [at] dcmurphy [dot] com.

Louis Guillette, Jr. passed away 6 August 2015

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2015 (Show details)

Lou Guillette passed away on 6 August 2015. RIP Lou.

Student Awards for 2015 are posted on the website (

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2015 (Show details)

The 2015 winners of Gaige Grants, Raney Grants, Stoye Awards and Storer awards are all now posted on the website:  Click on the awards to see the names of the winners.  The information for 2016 will be posted soon.

Election Results - Board of Governor's Election - 2015

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2015 (Show details)

The Board of Governors of the ASIH elects members to the award committees at their annual meeting.  Each person elected serves a three-year term and chairs the committee in their third year of service:  The following members were elected at the 2015 meeting:  Henry S. Fitch Award Committee: Robert E. Espinoza, Robert H. Gibbs, Jr. Memorial Award Committee: Kyle R. Piller, Robert K. Johnson Award Committee: Emily N. Taylor, and Joseph S. Nelson Award Committee: Jacqueline F. Webb.  Congratulations to the winners and thanks to everyone for placing their names on the ballot for 2015.

Awards - ASIH 2015

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2015 (Show details)

In 2015, the ASIH presented four awards.  The winners are:  Henry S. Fitch Award for Excellence in Herpetology: Patrick T. Gregory, Robert H. Gibbs, Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence in Systematic Ichthyology: Jeffrey Leis, Robert K. Johnson Award for Excellence in Service:  Michael E. Douglas (Herpetology), Joseph S. Nelson Award for Lifetime Achievement in Ichthyology:  William J. Matthews.  Congratulations to all the 2015 winners!

Douglas A. Rossman - passed away 23 July 2015

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2015 (Show details)

Douglas A. Rossman passed away on 23 July 2015. This obituary was posted:

photo of a black-tailed rattlesnake facing the camera
rattlesnake coiled next to some desert rocks