News: ASIH

To post a new item, send a request and the text item and any text file for downloading to asih-org [at] dcmurphy [dot] com.

Candidate Info for Society Elections

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2016 (Show details)

Information on ASIH candidates is available for download:

ASIH Candidate Info 2016

20 Questions for the Next President

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2016 (Show details)

The American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists recently signed on to a list of 20 questions that will be asked to each presidential candidate. Read them here:

Smithsonian Curator of Fishes, Richard Vari, passed away during the weekend of 15 January 2016

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2016 (Show details)

Our dear colleague Richard Vari passed away this past weekend (sometime between late Friday and early Saturday 15-16 January 2016). Rich served the ASIH in several capacities - RIP.  Governor Brian Sidlauskas submitted the following:

Richard Vari, Curator of Fishes at the Smithsonian, passed away this weekend after a year-long battle with cancer.  Details on a memorial service have not yet been finalized but will be announced when available.  He will be sorely missed.

— Brian Sidlauskas and Carl Ferraris
1 February 2016:  Rick's obituary can be found at:

Victor Morales passed away 31 December 2015.

Date Posted: 3 Jan 2016 (Show details)

Victor Morales passed away on 31 December 2015 after suffering a heart attack. Descanso en paz Victor.

General Election Results - 2015

Date Posted: 4 Nov 2015 (Show details)

ASIH Election Results – 2015

The general election results are in hand.  A total of 580 members voted in 2015!  The candidates for President-Elect were neck and neck throughout the voting period that closed on 31 October 2015.

The Board of Governors elections were announced at the Annual Business Meeting and are repeated here:

Henry S. Fitch Award Committee – Robert Espinoza
Robert H. Gibbs, Jr. Memorial Award Committee – Kyle Piller
Robert K. Johnson Award Committee – Emily Taylor
Joseph S. Nelson Award Committee – Jacqueline Webb

All the following incumbent officers & editors were re-elected:

F. Douglas Martin – Treasurer
Christopher Beachy – Editor

Wm. Leo Smith – Figure Editor
Donald G. Buth – General Ichthyology Associate Editor
Thomas J. Near – General Ichthyology Associate Editor
Robert Reis – General Ichthyology Associate Editor
Michael J. Lannoo – General Herpetology Associate Editor
Jacob Kerby - – General Herpetology Associate Editor
Wm. Leo Smith – Genetics, Development & Morphology Associate Editor
Terry Grande – Genetics, Development & Morphology Associate Editor
Dustin Siegel – Genetics, Development & Morphology Associate Editor
Jacob Schaefer – Ecology & Ethology Associate Editor
Joel Snodgrass – Ecology & Ethology Associate Editor
Karen Martin – Physiology & Physiological Associate Ecology
Jay W. Orr – Index Co-Associate Editor
Cynthia Klepadlo – Index Co-Associate Editor
Prosanta Chakrabarty – Book Review Editor – Ichthyology
Robert E. Espinoza – Book Review Editor – Herpetology

Prosanta Chakrabarty is the new Secretary!!!

Tiffany Doan is the Chair of the Nominating Committee
Whitney Anthonysamy (Herpetology), Mollie Cashner (Ichthyology), ad Caleb McMahan (Ichthyology) are members of the Nominating Committee

We elected five herpetologists and five ichthyologists to the Board of Governors – Class of 2020.  Each governor serves for five years:

Herpetology:  Carl Anthony, Alison R. Davis Rabosky, Corinne L. Richards-Zawacki, Ralph Saportio, and Steven Whitfield.
Ichthyology:  Rachel Arnold, Lara Ferry, Hernan Lopez-Fernandez, Katherine Maslenikov and Tracey T. Sutton.

President-Elect:  Carole C. Baldwin

Thanks to all who placed their names in nomination and congrats to all who were elected.  I look forward to working with you all for the rest of 2015 and during 2016!

photo of a western cottonmouth that's in a defensive posture
man holding male and female Kurtus gulliveri
Eurycea lucifuga salamander