Joseph S. Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award in Ichthyology

Nominations are solicited for the recently established Joseph S.Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award in Ichthyology from the AmericanSociety of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (ASIH). The award recognizes a member of ASIH for an outstanding body of work in any area of ichthyology, including, but not limited to: ecology, behavior, life history, genetics, conservation, and systematics. The award is granted principally on the basis of the quality of the awardee's research; consideration is also given to educational and service impacts of the individual's career.

The recipient, selected by an award committee, will be announced at the ASIH annual meeting. The award, to be presented at the annual meeting, consists of an engraved crystal obelisk to commemorate a prestigious career devoted to the study of fishes. Nominations are encouraged from any ASIH member and must include the nominee's curriculum vitae and details of the nominee's specific contributions and their impacts on the field of ichthyology.

Nominations, including self-nominations, should be submitted by 1 March 2017 for the nominee to be eligible for this year's award. Nominations will be effective for three years. The nomination should be submitted electronically via email to Dr. Larry Page (lpage1 [at] ufl [dot] edu) or to the ASIH Secretary, Prosanta Chakrabarty (ASIHsec [at] outlook [dot] com).

Past Recipients

  • 2016: Gerald Allen
  • 2015: William J. Matthews
  • 2014: Bruce B. Collette
  • 2013: Gerald R. Smith
longear sunfish